Rainbow Sundae 2.31

Life was quiet after the announcement. Ashlynn and Orion were the final stages of finding the cure to Ashlynn’s curse.

Ashlynn scratched her cheek. God damn magic was complicated. A knock at the door interrupted her mental complaints.

Orion: “I’ll get it.”

He regretted his decision immediately…

Orion: “Mother… What are you doing here?”

Leslie: “Aren’t you going to invite me in?”

Orion: “… Of course.”

Orion could feel his mother’s eyes burn through the decor of his small home.

Leslie: “What happened to the other place? Ran away from there too?”

Ashlynn has moved to the dining table.

Ashlynn: “Oh Lord… I’ll make some lunch for everyone.”

Orion sat on the small loveseat with his mother.

Orion: “So what brings you by?”

Leslie: “I wanted to see my son. Why are their rocks in your fireplace?”

Orion: “Those are focusing crystals– You’re changing the subject.”

Leslie: “I miss you. I wish you’d come visit and meet Jaxson.”

There was a pang in Orion’s heart.

Orion: “A brother, huh? I don’t know if I can make it to the house anytime soon, but let’s take a picture together at least. For Jaxson.”

Cheese!

Leslie: “Jaxson is so smart. You know he learned to stack blocks so fast. Picked it up even quicker than you did.”

Orion: “…”

There was a knock at the door and Leslie couldn’t hide her grin.

Leslie: “You should answer that, Dear.”

Orion opened the door and came face to face with a blast from his past. One of the twins. He couldn’t remember which was which.

Orion: “What are you doing here?”

Jennifer/Jessica: “Your Mother invited me.”

Orion: “Of course she did…”

The twin walked in and fumes rose from Ashlynn’s ears.

Ashlynn: “Mrs. Fraiser, I’m so glad you could stop by… Thank you for attending Orion and I’s wedding.”

The twin snorted.

Leslie whispered to the twin.

Leslie: “Don’t worry. You can steal my son away from that cheap whore no problem.”

Twin: “Believe me. I don’t need the pep talk. Orion is fine and he’ll be mine. Along with all the money, right.”

Leslie: “When the job is done.”

Orion: “So Mom, why’d you invite Jennifer or Jessica?”

Leslie: “No reason. We just bumped into each other recently and she was asking about you, so I thought I’d invite her along.”

Ashlynn rolled her eyes.

Orion decided to nip this in the butt.

Orion: “Listen Jennifer or Jessica… whatever your name is… I don’t know what my Mom put you up to, but you can go to hell and get out of my house.”

The twin glared at him.

Twin: “You think you can just dismiss me? I could have you on your knees begging for me!”

Orion: “I don’t beg for scraps.”

Twin: !!!

Orion then marched over to his mother.

Orion: “Listen Mom. I’m sure you think whatever it is your trying to do is in my best interest, but it’s not. It’s only benefiting you. As usual. So I want you to leave. I love you and I’m sorry, but please leave my home now.”

A few weeks later…

Leslie: “This is the place.”

Alden: “This dump?”

Leslie: “Yup.”

A plain sedan pulled up to the lot and Ashlynn exited the Uber. Her eyes caught a glimpse of Orion parents and she limply waved. Just great.

Alden glared at her and Leslie was about to say something snide when it happened. There was a small snap of magical energy and Ashlynn watched the rage illuminate Alden’s already red eyes. Uh oh.

The old man threw the first punch.

Orion rushed outside and saw the commotion. Not again.

His eyes widened as he realized it was his father. He face palmed and shrugged at his elderly father.

Orion: “Father! Really? Cut it out.”

Ashlynn gave Alden one last think on the head and with that the fight was over.

Orion laughed. He couldn’t help it.

Alden: “You torn trash bag! How dare you strike me! You really are a classless moron.”

Ashlynn sighed. She had no idea how much of this anger was from him or from the curse.

Ashlynn: “Go home, Mr. Fraiser. Such strenuous activity is bad for old fucks like yourself.”

Leslie booed from the side lines.

Ashlynn went inside. Orion took the opportunity to confront his father.

Orion: “I have enough of you and Mother interfering with my life. Leave me alone or you’ll be dealing with a lot worse than a quick thump on the head. I mean it. Fists or curses. I will make your life a living hell.”

Alden flinched. Curses? He was sure the magic is son was obsessed with was nonsense, but he definitely didn’t want to risk getting hit with one of Orion’s punches. His son had definitely filled out since moving out.

Bonus picture:

Orion set the tree on fire with magic. Cause ya know… it wasn’t in season.

Leave a comment